Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Halloween Pub Crawl

A friend talked me into doing a Halloween pub crawl this weekend. My friend is someone I met through work, she's awesome, but she's a few years younger than my 27 years (*cough* +10 *cough*) of age and my first thought is "I'm too old for this shit." But I'm from New Orleans, so let's be honest, we New Orleanians never get too old for this shit, we just perfect our strategies. I should mention that I'm totally in this for the photo ops, because let's face it, Halloween costumes + Pub Crawl = Totally embarrassing photos for all!
This brings us to the Halloween costume decision. Now, I could do the wench costume, I have plenty of options for clothes...I love renaissance festivals and being a card carrying Wench it's a look I've added to over the years. I also thought about doing something different this year: witch, sorceress, vampire. I was even trying to come up with ways to use my wench garb in a different costume. I thought of adding white pancake makeup and going as the ghost of a wench or a witch. And then, I had the idea of going as a ghost of a witch from the Salem witch trials, complete with a rope fashioined into a noose around my neck. (Did I mention my strange sense of humor?) But after a couple of texts, that was deemed a little too tacky, even for me. I still think it would be funny, but being haunted by the ghosts of Salem witches might not be so funny afterwards. If I knew the status of their senses of humor, it would be better. But, after being hanged, pressed or drowned, I'm thinking they lack humor.
I polled my FB friends and most voted "wench." My Friend that started this entire thing voted "whatever is the skankiest, so she wouldn't feel weird." So, wench it is. It allows me to show off large tracks of land while at the same time donning a long skirt. Another friend voted for "Banana" and the only banana costume I found was a very unflattering "banana flasher" in the men's section. Not. I think I'll take my wooden beer mug and go as a "Beer Wench." Because who doesn't love a wench with beer?